Clean

Today I fully realized that the education I want is completely free. I read it, watch it, listen to it daily on the internet, in books, on the radio, on TV occasionally and when I go out and interact with people in the real world. I don’t know what I’m getting at OSU but I know I’m tired of it. But I digress, this post is about something else.

It’s about Clean. Clean, which is a cleanse. Not a cleanse of  the lemon juice, maple syrup and cayenne pepper fame, but a legitimate, well thought out, based on science cleanse. The creator and author of Clean is Dr. Alejandro Junger, M.D. He tells his story in the book but basically he came to America from Uruguay to intern at an NYU hospital. When he got here he was overwhelmed with the availability and abundance of food. He had never seen packaged food before and was soon living off the stuff. He developed irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), insomnia and depression. He saw a psychiatrist who prescribed him an antidepressant that he didn’t want to take. Over several years and a lot of searching he eventually found a detox program, realized most ailments start in the intestines, “cured” his IBS, insomnia and depression and developed his own program: Clean. Clean not only removes the “bad” stuff in you, but it also restores the intestinal flora – the “good stuff.” He uses Clean in his current practice and says it works, or at least helps, every time. I don’t know that I believe that completely but it’s the best detox/cleanse I’ve seen and I think it’s something I’ll probably do once a year. I will mention that I don’t agree with everything Dr. Junger writes and believes but what I do like immensely about him is that he tells you to care about the quality of your food….not just the quality of the nutrients (whole grains, fresh fruits and veggies, etc.), but also where your food comes from and whether or not it’s organic, etc.

Now on to my experience with Clean. It’s designed to be 3 weeks, but Dr. Junger says even just 1 week will do most people a lot of good. He also advises that you start with at least a few days of what he calls the “Elimination Diet” which I did as well for 1 week. To eat on the Elimination Diet you just eat as you normally do (3 – or however many you eat – solid meals a day), but you cannot eat certain foods and he recommends certain foods you should eat. The book has a lot of recipes for both Clean and the Elimination Diet which I have been using the whole time. The cleanse can easily be done without the recipes but I like using his. Eating the Elimination Diet was easy for me because I don’t eat many of the foods on the “no” list (except eggs – which I miss more than anything – and a few others). I’m now on day 12 of the actual program. While I’m typing this I’m drinking my “Green Juice” for dinner (which is good for dinner, not so much for breakfast FYI). Here are the main rules of Clean: 1) Have 2 liquid meals a day, 2) Have one solid meal a day, 3) Eat only those foods on the “yes” list, 4) Wait at least 12 hours between your final meal one day and your first meal the next day, 5) Move – be active in some way each day. There are optional things you can do as well like take supplements, meditate, etc. I take probiotics, a liver support product, oil of oregano (which could be the nastiest thing I’ve ever put in my mouth), 2 Tbsp. olive oil and I skin brush before my shower everyday. I tried several of the recipes on week one, found 5 or 6 I really like and now just rotate those. It’s easier for me that way, but again, you don’t have to use his recipes. I generally make one of two smoothies in the morning for breakfast and dinner and one of two recipes involving quinoa, greens and chicken or lamb for lunch. A couple of times a week I have a juice for breakfast and dinner instead of a smoothie. I usually have some fruit for an afternoon snack as well and I workout five days a week. I’m only about halfway through but I’m enjoying Clean (except for the no egg part). I feel good. Clean hasn’t been life changing for me, and I don’t think it will be simply because I was pretty healthy when I started. But like I said, I think it’s a good thing to do once a year to give my digestive system a good “cleaning.” I still have 9 days left, so something great could still happen. I’ll let you know either way. Now I have to finish listening to the Ducks, who are currently losing. Clearly they need me to give them my full attention. Goodnight. Go Ducks!!

3 thoughts on “Clean

  1. Congratulations on your new blog. How do you celebrate that? Do you smash a champagne bottle against your monitor? And congratulations to me. This is my first commented post to a blog.

    This is an interesting approach to diet research. I don’t think it would be correct to call yourself a guinea ‘pig’ though.

    I don’t know anything about cleansing other than a few anecdotal comments by people who have tried them. It is a fact that our bodies are full of microbes with many different functions, some beneficial, some detrimental to our various bodily systems. Some of these bugs reside in our gut and their purpose is to remove certain toxins passing through from the foods that we eat. I wonder if any research has been done to show what effect these cleanses have on this process. Are they designed to compliment and enhance the function of these microbes or do they work in a different way?

    I guess I have a new subject to read up on now. Good luck with your research.

    And…….Go Ducks!

  2. That’s the point of this cleanse. To get rid of the bad bacteria and help build-up the good bacteria so they’re better at getting the bad stuff out. I take probiotics to build-up the good stuff and the olive oil and oil of oregano are supposed to get rid of the bad stuff. You should read Clean. I’ll loan it to you.

  3. Hi Kayla, I am reading CLEAN right now. I’m excited to go on the cleanse, but want to finish the book first. My dilemma is convenience. I’m considering going on Jenny Craig again to get rid of my 20 lbs. I need someone to convince me that I can do it on my own without the prepackaged foods…Ha! Leslie

Leave a Reply

