Juice. Oh Juice.

I’ve wanted to do a juice fast for about 2 months now, ever since I watched a documentary called “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” that was recommended to me by a friend. It’s the story of an Australian man, Joe Cross, who has a rare autoimmune disorder (I can’t remember what it’s called) that manifests as a painful red rash anywhere, and sometimes everywhere, on the body. He is also very overweight and is on a large dose of prednisone to treat his disorder. He decides to go on a 60-day juice fast to jump-start his weight loss and new healthy lifestyle. His reason for doing a juice fast, rather than something else, is because juicing provides an abundance of micronutrients that cannot be obtained any other way (besides eating an absurd amount of fruits and vegetables, which is a VERY hard thing to do). I agree that this is a good way to get a huge amount of micronutrients, but I do not think this is what he had to do, or that it was the healthiest thing for him to do. I don’t agree with most of the nutrition advice given in the movie, but Joe does get healthy and inspires numerous other people to start living healthier along the way, which I think is worth something. And the film did inspire me to try a juice fast of my own.

In the movie Joe challenges a woman he meets to do a 10-day fast, so this is what I decided I would do too. For multiple reasons, I didn’t have ten days that I could devote to a fast so I decided to do a 5-day fast instead. Last Sunday I prepared for the juice by eating only fruits and vegetables. On Monday I started the fast by drinking five 24-oz juices made from a variety of fruits and veggies. I also supplemented the fast with protein powder because juicing provides no protein and I believe protein is an important nutrient. I did this on Tuesday and Wednesday as well. On Thursday, I woke up, went to the kitchen and ate my apple instead of juicing it. So I lasted 3 days instead of 5. I could have gone another 2 days – I could have gone another 7 days – but I didn’t want to. I’ve been on some diets that I didn’t love before, but I was getting something out of them at least. By day three of the juice fast I had gotten all I was going to get. I was hungry, I had no energy, I required more sleep than normal, I was losing weight very rapidly and I really, really, REALLY wanted to eat something – not drink something. So I did. I think the having no energy thing is what bothered me the most. Granted, I wasn’t just laying in bed all day (I ran a total of 10 miles in those three days and went to two boxing classes), but I also wasn’t doing anything that I don’t normally do, and I definitely felt a difference. I eased myself out of the fast on Thursday by eating only fruits and veggies, but on Friday I had eggs for breakfast – some of the best eggs I’ve had in a while. Nevertheless, I’m glad I did this juice fast because I learned that I will never advise anyone to do one. I’m okay with supplementing with juicing, but not a juice fast. Next, I plan to do 30 days of Paleo. I will enjoy Paleo MUCH more. I probably won’t do that until January. We’ll see if I squeeze anything else in before then.

The Ducks lost last night 😦 and our championship hopes officially died. I guess I’ll just have to be happy with the Rose Bowl and dominating the Beavers next week. Have a happy Thanksgiving and go Ducks!

Leave a Reply

