The End of Paleo

I have finished my 30 days of Paleo. I don’t really have any major feelings about this. The thing I’m most looking forward to is drinking alcohol again. Not that I drink a huge amount of alcohol, but it’s always more fun to have a drink when that’s what the people around you are doing. There were a few instances in the past 30 days where everyone had alcohol and I had a lot of water. Other than that, I’m looking forward to being able to eat whatever I want when I go out, and only having to modify the item on the menu if I want to.

My daily menu looked pretty similar to this each day: breakfast – eggs and berries, lunch – salad greens with some sort of meat or eggs, some veggies and an olive oil based dressing, dinner – meat of some kind and greens. This menu suits me well. It’s delicious, simple and easy. After 30 days of this, more or less, I’m ready to complicate my meals a little more, but when I’m not feeling adventurous, this is what I will come back to. About two weeks ago I read everything Mark Sisson had to say about intermittent fasting (IF), and the information convinced me to do it. There are many different ways to practice IF. I chose to completely fast between Tuesday’s dinner and Thursday’s breakfast, which I did last week, and which means that today, my first day officially off Paleo, I’m fasting. I haven’t experienced any life changing effects, but so far, I’m enjoying IF. I think it allows my body to focus on things other than digestion for a little while.

I would like to say, for the record, that I believe some version of Paleo/Primal Blueprint is the healthiest way for everyone to eat. This may be why I don’t have any major feelings about finishing 30 days of eating this way. I’m just going to continue, with a little more leniency. That being said, as a future dietitian, I don’t think I will advise people to eat this way. At least not right away. I think the most important thing is that people eat real foods. I think the world would be a lot healthier if we all ate real food. I also believe it’s important that what you eat makes you feel good (mentally but physically too) and is something you enjoy.

Experimenting with these different diets has been fun, interesting and educational, but I think I’m done. Maybe not forever, but I don’t really know. Since I believe Paleo/Primal Blueprint is the healthiest way to eat, I don’t see any reason to try something else. I’ve read a lot about this way of eating and why it is good, and I’ve actually committed to 30 days of this way of eating. The reading and the living of Paleo have convinced me to stick with it indefinitely. This doesn’t mean I’ll never eat grains or legumes or dairy again because I think my body can handle a small amount of these foods, but they will be limited, probably to special occasions, and I will enjoy them immensely. (Random side note – I hate the word immense due to a 6th grade spelling bee incident, but I think it is the appropriate word here.)

So, I have no new diet to talk about now, but I will continue to write about food, nutrition, the Ducks and whatever else I feel like sharing here. I hope you’ll keep reading. Go Ducks!

One thought on “The End of Paleo

  1. Is chocolate cake on the paleo diet? j/k.
    This all sounds very interesting and logical. Do you get hungry when fasting. I’ve noticed that after the initial hunger pangs, I really don’t feel that hungry if I go an extended period without eating. I wonder why?

Leave a Reply

