Three Again

This has been a very busy restaurant week. I ate at 3 new restaurants this week and I covered brunch, lunch and dinner.

Lets start with Tasty n Alder

Tasty n Alder is the brand new restaurant by the people at Tasty n Sons which is known as the best brunch spot in Portland. I’ve had dinner at TnS before, and it was incredible, but eating brunch there has been on my list of things to do for a while. TnA doesn’t have the exact same menu as Tns, but in an effort to avoid the huge wait at TnS, I decided to try out the new place. That effort was not rewarded with a short wait, but that really didn’t surprise me. In this instance, I think being a party of 1 was actually a disadvantage because there is limited seating for small parties. I was told I would be waiting about 30 minutes, but it turned out to be more like 45. I sat at the bar and the bartender asked me if I would like a drink to which I replied no. I started to tell him that I had my eye on an adult milkshake for after my meal, but he clearly was distracted by someone behind me. It happened to be a waiter asking him if he knew who the doughnut in his had was for. As it turned out, he didn’t know, but I did – because it was mine. I quickly ordered the rest of my meal and the bartender asked if I had ordered a drink. “No I didn’t,” I said while suppressing laughter. The food came quickly and was decent, but nothing special. I had the doughnut, a roasted apple with bacon and cheddar, a frittata with peppers, onions, broccoli, basil and provolone and the creamscicle milkshake. I would say yes to lunch or dinner at TnS without hesitation, but I think I’d skip brunch based on this experience. I had to ask for my check after my dishes had been cleared way and I’d just been sitting there for about 10 minutes. Then when the check came, it said I was a party of 3 and owed $72. That was quickly straightened out and my actual, much cheaper bill came. I’d say skip Tasty n Alder and stick to Tasty n Sons. Granted, TnA hasn’t started serving dinner yet, and if it’s anything like TnS, I’d recommend it.
Baked AppleCreamscicle MilkshakeDoughnutFrittata

Two days later I went to The Woodsman Tavern

I went to dinner with my aunt and one of her friends from high school. It was pretty early on a Monday night and we were able to be seated right away. It took a while for our waiter to make initial contact with us, but after that I though the service was pretty good. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. First we ordered deviled eggs, potted pork and smoked pork sausage. I will admit I didn’t try the eggs because they didn’t look that exciting and my aunt reported that it tasted like a normal deviled egg. The potted pork and the sausage were great though. The sausage was my favorite out of the three and the one I would order again. Next my aunt and her friend ordered a roasted Brussels sprouts salad and a kale Caesar salad. I had a bite of the Brussels sprouts and liked it, but roasted Brussels sprouts are always good in my opinion so that was no surprise. Her friend didn’t like his kale salad too much so I had a good portion of that and it was pretty good too. For the main course, I had the lamb shank with barley, mustard greens and turnips. I really enjoyed it and would order it again. The lamb was very tender and flavorful. My aunt ordered the trout which I tasted and I would order. Her friend ordered the steak with fries and said he enjoyed it. We then moved on to dessert where I ordered the Mexican chocolate sundae which I thoroughly enjoyed, and my aunt ordered the maple panna cotta-like dessert that I, of course, tasted. I would order the maple dessert every time – no question. I really enjoyed the Woodsman and would definitely go back for any meal.
Brussels SproutsGrilled Bavette SteakKale Caesar SaladLamb ShankMapleMexican Chocolate SundaePotted PorkRoasted TroutSmoked Pork Sausage

Paulee

Paulee is a fairly new restaurant not in Portland, but in tiny little Dundee. I went there because if you look at any sort of “best restaurants of Portland” list, you’ll most likely see something about Paulee even though it’s not actually in Portland. I went for lunch on a weekday and I was the only person there for the entire hour or more I was there. The server told me it’s never that slow, and I hope she’s right because I hope this restaurant sticks around. I sat at the bar, though I was told I could sit wherever I wanted. The service was fine and the food came out in a reasonable amount of time, but it’s hard to judge these things when you’re the only one being served. I had decided that I would get a drink if she asked me if I wanted one but I wouldn’t if she didn’t. She didn’t ask, so I just had water. I ordered a beet salad and the Paulee burger with fries. About 10-15 minutes after I ordered I was told that they were supposed to get an order of beets delivered that day, but they hadn’t arrived yet. They had some beets, but they didn’t feel comfortable serving them to me in their condition so they offered me the kale salad instead which was actually my second choice. I was happy to take the kale instead of the beets and happy that they didn’t just serve me the sub-par beets. The kale was great and they ended up not charging me for it since they didn’t have the beets – unnecessary, but very nice of them. The Paulee burger had bacon and a fried egg along with all of the normal things that come on a burger. It was pretty good, but almost impossible to get in my mouth. I think I actually like the fries more than the burger. By the end of the meal I was stuffed. I would eat at Paulee again, but probably not for lunch. Not because it wasn’t good, but because it wasn’t great. I’ve heard the dinners are pretty good though, so I’d probably try dinner there at least once.
Kale SaladPaulee Burger

One thought on “Three Again

Leave a Reply

