The Road To Coffee

I don’t know why, but over the past 6 months or so I have developed an intense desire to like coffee. I have never liked coffee. I’ve hated it. I have had heated debates with people about why drinking coffee is bad. (That was when I was 16 and for some reason believed drinking coffee was bad. I haven’t believed that for years.) I’ve always loved the smell of coffee, and now I want to love the taste. To gradually introduce coffee into my life I started with alcoholic coffee drinks. For the past few months when I’ve gone out I have ordered some version of coffee and alcohol, and I’ve enjoyed it. But drinking alcohol with my coffee every time isn’t really practical so I started looking for new ideas. I was talking to my very good friend, and the most passionate coffee drinker I know, about it, and she suggested a latte. I agreed that the next logical step in my coffee journey was probably a latte. She told me the best lattes she’s ever had were from a place in downtown Portland called Coffeehouse Northwest. She said the caramel, vanilla and regular were all delicious. So we decided that I should start with the caramel and work my way to the regular latte – eventually the goal is to get to just a cup of coffee with some cream, but lets not get ahead of ourselves. Last Monday I want to CHNW and had my first caramel, and first ever, latte. I loved it. Even better than alcohol and coffee (ok maybe not, but definitely just as good, and certainly more appropriate for the middle of the day on Monday).

20130518-114728.jpg
As I type this I am drinking my first vanilla latte – also from CHNW. And I can tell you with 100% confidence that this will not be my last one. I think I love it even more than the caramel. I’m going to enjoy my time at the vanilla level for a few weeks (I only get them on Saturday mornings) before moving on to a plain latte. The road to coffee is incredibly delicious, and I’m glad I’m on it!

20130518-114800.jpg I don’t know why I’m showing you this photo, it looks just like the other one. But it’s vanilla, not caramel!

Leave a Reply

